Another cohort joins the ILSS journey

Date : Aug 28 , 2019 | Program

The transformative nine-day experience attracts leaders on a mission to contribute to India’s social development.

The sixth edition of the ILSS Leadership Program concluded on August 31, 2019 at Ashoka University with 27 senior leaders, largely from corporate organisations, participating in the nine-day immersion into the social development sector.

The largest-ever cohort at the ILSS Leadership Program featured leaders from companies such as IBM India, Facebook India, Genpact, Yes Bank, PwC and BNP Paribas, among others. Along with senior corporate executives, the cohort also included leaders from non-profits such as Janaagraha and Dream a Dream.

Over nine days, 35 speakers, including NGO founders, practitioners, development economists, foundation heads and philanthropists, helped participants gain a deeper understanding of social development issues, guiding them on how they can engage more deeply with the task of addressing persistent, complex development challenges. 

Speakers at ILSS Leadership Program, August 23-31, 2019

Adil Zainulbhai  Chairman, Quality Council of India
Prof AK Shiva Kumar Development Economist;
Visiting Faculty: Ashoka University, Indian School of Business, Harvard Kennedy School of Government
Sr. Policy Advisor, Unicef India  
Anshu Bhartia   CEO, UnLtd India
Anu Aga   Founder Trustee, Teach For India
Former Chairperson, Thermax Ltd
Anu Prasad Founder-Director, India Leaders for Social Sector
Anurag Sharma Director, District Transformation, Kaivalya Education Foundation
Prof. Ashok Sircar   Director, School of Development, Azim Premji University
Ashweetha Shetty   Founder, Bodhi Tree Foundation
Amitav Virmani Founder CEO, The Education Alliance
Ashutosh Tyagi Head, India Education Outcome Fund, Social Finance India
Bikkrama Daulet Singh Co-Managing Director, Central Square Foundation
Chakshu Roy   Head, Legislative & Civic Engagement, PRS Legislative Research
Dipali Sheth Vice President & Head of People Strategy, Ashoka University
Gautam John   Director of Strategy, Nilekani Philanthropies
Harish Hande   Founder & Chief Executive, SELCO Foundation
Ingrid Srinath Director, Centre for Social Impact and Philanthropy, Ashoka University
John Burrows   Sr. Lecturer, Harris School of Public Policy, University of Chicago;
Associate Fellow, Said Business School, Oxford University
KS Narendran Board Member, Reflexive Lenses Consulting Pvt Ltd.
M Hari Menon   Director, India Country Office, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Mihir Mathur     Founder, DESTA Research LLP
Neha Barjatya   Chief Internet Saathi, Foundation for Rural Entrepreneurship Development (FREND)
Osama Manzar Founder-Director, Digital Empowerment Foundation
Pranav Kothari   Vice President, Large Scale Education Programme, Educational Initiatives
Praveen Khanghta   Sr. Program Manager, Strategy, Learning & Partnerships, Central Square Foundation
Dr. Rani Bang   Co-Founder, Society for Education, Action and Research in Community Health (SEARCH)
Ravi Sreedharan   Founder, Indian School of Development Management
Roop Sen Consultant, Innobridge Consulting Pvt. Ltd.
Srikanth Viswanathan   Chief Executive Officer, Janaagraha Centre for Citizenship and Democracy  
Sujata Khandekar   Founding Director and Secretary, Board of Trustees – CORO India
Surabhi Bikhchandani   Partner (Executive Search), Quadrangle
Thomas Chandy   CEO, India Sanitation Coalition
Ujwal Thakar   Board Member, Educate Girls
Former CEO, Pratham and GiveIndia
Venkat Krishnan   Social Activist;
Principal Trustee, India Welfare Trust
Vishal Talreja   Co-Founder, Dream a Dream

The experiential learning program includes talks, panel discussions, grassroots immersion visits, reflection sessions, self-awareness and leadership exercises and networking opportunities to connect with leaders in the social sector.

The sixth edition of the program concluded with a closing ceremony presided by philanthropist and business leader Anu Aga.

Applications for the next edition of the ILSS Leadership Program, scheduled for January 14-25, 2020, are open now. Register before December 15, 2019.

Recent Posts

View All >>